3 Gorgeous Beauty Products You’re Probably Sleeping On

2016-05-04 16.19.57.jpg

 

As a freelance makeup artist, friends and family sometimes unintentionally mislabel me as a stereotypical 21st century beauty guru. You know, the fabulous, really talented social media beauty pros who won’t let any product touch their faces if it isn’t MAC, Nars, or some other $50 foundation that everyone and their mother has heard of before. Don’t get me wrong; well-known, high-end products are some of my absolute favorites. They’re gorgeous, easy to work with, and their popularity undoubtedly exists for a reason. However, I also adore products that are a bit off the beaten path. This does not mean that they are unheard of, or that no one uses them or likes them. It also does not mean that the products are necessarily cheap. Instead, they tend to be overlooked because you either don’t hear much about them on social media, or you don’t typically find them at well-known makeup counters. There’s nothing more hilarious than the look on someone’s face when I tell them that my fabulous hot pink lips came from Target and…gasp…NOT from the MAC counter. Thus, the following are three of my top picks for fabulous cosmetics that are either found in unconventional places, or come from artists who, frankly, deserve more credit. Regardless, they prove that quality cosmetics can be found literally anywhere.

H&M Nail Polish

H&M nails

Source: hm.com

 

Step aside, gel mani! If you’ve ever wanted a flawless manicure without having to spend a ton of money, look no further than the cosmetic section at H&M! The colors are absolutely glorious, and one bottle costs approximately $5. I bought my first bottle called “Heatwave” maybe two weeks ago and immediately fell in love with the smooth, creamy texture. Just one coat is highly-pigmented and gives a brilliant, almost gel-like shine to your nails. Add a second coat and you’ll be unstoppable. Oh, and let me re-emphasize the COLORS. This level of pigmentation, for lack of better wording, gives me LIFE. I love a fabulous gel manicure on special occasions as much as the next girl. However, when I can’t get to a salon, I’ll take these over a $12 bottle of mainstream polish any day, anytime, and any place.

Laura Mercier Matte Radiance Baked Powder Compacts

Source: sephora.com

 

This product actually is found in Sephora, and it’s priced significantly higher than the rest of the items on this list. However, frankly, I don’t believe that Laura Mercier products get the credit that they deserve. My wonderful mommy gifted me with one of the highlighter compacts on Christmas a while ago. Out of all the famous big-name highlighter products on the market, I undoubtedly love this one the most. This has been my go-to highlighter for quite some time because a little goes a long way; it does not take a ton of product for a Hollywood-ready glow. Simply apply the product with a firm but fluffy brush to your T-zone and at the tops of your cheeks for a sweet, dewy look. As pictured above, the highlighters come in a plethora of shades to match a wide range of skin complexions. They are sold individually instead of in a combination compact. Though they cost almost $40, they last a long time, and they have created gorgeous looks for both myself and my clients. Sometimes it’s good to invest in a quality, trustworthy product that you won’t have to replace every couple of weeks. It’s the same concept as when you’re buying a good pair of long-lasting designer work pumps instead of…you get it. 😉

NYX Matte Lipsticks

NYX1

Source: drugstore.com

 

In this day and age, when it comes to lip color, it’s always “MAC rules everything around me.” If you walk out of the house with a gorgeous red lip, someone will usually guess “Ruby Woo?!” at least once. I’ll be honest and say that MAC does make wonderful high-quality lipsticks. However, if you don’t feel like paying $16 for a gorgeous pout, get yourself to Target and pay $6 for some phenomenal, highly-pigmented, quality lipsticks. Not only is NYX cheaper than other cosmetic brands, but they are also, in my opinion, one of the most overlooked brands out there. NYX actually has an entire line of beautiful, salon-quality products, from eyeshadow to setting spray, that seemingly no one shares my excitement about. (One of these days I’m going to post a look where I use nothing but NYX products. I can’t wait to see everyone’s reaction 😂).

So there you have it. These are, in my opinion, fantastic quality products which are HIGHLY overlooked. Try one (or all) today and let me know what you think!


6 thoughts on “3 Gorgeous Beauty Products You’re Probably Sleeping On

    1. Yes yes please do! I actually love their lipsticks as well! I need to try the eyeshadows but I can definitely say that I love the nail polish and the lipstick! It’s wonderful.

      Like

Leave a comment